a suitable place to die

a suitable place to die

Yesterday for breakfast I made an egg, cheese and tempeh sandwich that should have been consumed in two sessions of gluttony, but I managed it at one go. I had to lie down immediately afterwards. Fortunately, some years back, my wife and I purchased an old day bed from an antique dealer who referred to it as a “reclaimer”. I think he meant Recamier, but I’ll never really know.

When we first brought it home, it looked like someone died on it and leached into it for awhile before someone found them. The victim also appears to have fallen from a great height before striking the article in question, because they unsprung it thoroughly.

My wife and I rebuilt the frame and reupholstered it, and yesterday I passed out on it, after trying to kill myself with food. If you ever run across one of these at a yard sale, snap it up. The folks who designed this thing knew their invalids.

