Sorry I haven’t posted much lately, but if I’m not out canvassing, I’m repairing the plaster walls upstairs in the shack next door. I don’t know why they only used a scratch coat. It could be the house was built during, or shortly after the panic of 1873, because it does roughly correspond to that period. In my humble architectural opinion, they should have pitched a tent and waited till they could afford to accumulate more sticks and rocks.

Maybe I’m just grousing because the place currently reeks of squirrel piss. I’m hoping that will diminish when I replace the rotted sleepers with hewn cedar beams; but then again, it will probably just smell like someone’s squirrel cage.

plaster dislodged by moisture and SQUIRRELS

plaster dislodged by moisture and SQUIRRELS

another view of SQUIRREL damage

another view of SQUIRREL damage

At any rate, I’ll be spending the next couple of weeks breathing dust from drywall joint compound while we watch the new great depression take hold like a case of clap.

