It could be worse. We could be in the deep-freeze most of you guys are going through, but the hurricane level rainfall Friday and the consistent damp this week are certainly a pain in the ass. I’m just bitching because I want to get out and work the mules.

I  got my Work Horse Manual in the mail today, and read it through once. So far, the only thing I’m doing wrong is feeding them a little  too much. Fortunately, the apples and carrots  are probably helping to counterbalance the superfluous grain in their diet.

The balky mule has shown my wife how to catch him, and I quickly followed suit. He just likes to be chased for a minute or two, apparently. I understand  now this is common.  I have plenty of time, and I need more exercise anyway.  At one point I was actually debating whether to get a walking or riding plow.

Looks like it’ll have to be the walking one, If I want to continue snorkeling through reefs of pasta. Or the three cheese pizza that’s cooling on the cutting board now.  I finally learned how to make a thin crust, and it’s completly counterintuitive: Add olive oil like you’re making focaccia , and press the dough as thinly as possible into the baking sheet. Fries up real nice.

