DSC00423Since the weather’s cooled off  I’ve resumed rehabbing the building that’s going to be a workshop and sort of catch-all storage for junk we’re not prepared to throw away yet. I don’t know whether it’s scraping old, alligatored paint with a faulty respirator duct-taped to my head, climbing around on scaffolding, or just finally shifting my ass a bit,  but I’m beat by the end of the day. Despite that, I decided this evening to do something with the haul of poblano peppers we got from the garden. I purchased two sets from Barnes supply in Durham around mid-April, thinking we’d harvest four or five peppers from them.

We’ve probably harvested 25-30 of them so far, and there’s quite a few left on the plants.

I don’t have the patience to roast the skins off them, and it doesn’t seem to matter. I thought they might work well in a casserole with some  grain-based veggie chorizo,  roasted potatoes, olive oil, cheese, olive oil, cheese, and cheese. One thing about these particular poblanos is the lack of the mildness for which they were advertised. I have learned to handle them with gloves.

cholesterol packed!

cholesterol packed!

