I’ve been out in the woodlot with the chainsaw today, slicing up deadfall because the weather is making me slightly nervous. We’ve gone through more firewood over the past week than we usually burn over the whole month of December. I hope we’re spared the kind of weather event you guys are enduring in the Midwest and North, but our luck seems to be running out.
The woods here are full of dead elms and poplars that have recently begun to lay over in the heavy winds. There’s one poplar I’ve yet to begin sawing that the wind ripped out of the low silty ground near the creek. It’s still trying to send up a few saplings from its base. Once I get it sawn, one of the mules will have the bad luck of having to snake pieces of it up a pretty steep hill.
I’ll try and post pictures of our shared misery.

