From Taegan Goddard also too:
Republican Congressman to Byron York on the current fiscal crisis:Republican Congressman to Byron York on the current fiscal crisis:

“I would liken this a little bit to Gettysburg, where a Confederate unit went looking for shoes and stumbled into Union cavalry, and all of a sudden found itself embroiled in battle on a battlefield it didn’t intend to be on, and everybody just kept feeding troops into it. That’s basically what’s happening now in a political sense. This isn’t exactly the fight I think Republicans wanted to have, certainly that the leadership wanted to have, but it’s the fight that’s here.”

Ahem

My beloved Rowena Dinette:

A couple of days ago we was out admiring the beautiful summer weather here in Yankeeland and thinkin’ it would be nice to score a pair of Bally wingtips or Bruno Maglis from some lobbyists and shut down the government, when we run across one a them health care exchange units and opened fire. Well goddamn if they didn’t come right back at us & run us near to Dupont Circle and a few of us had to dump our knapsacks. We lost a couple of boys over by the WWII memorial, pinned down by heavy camera crews in one of the biggest photo ops I’ve seen since Seven Pine. Sadly, one of us was forced by a barrage of media criticism to return our paycheck.

General Cruz showed up at the waterin’ hole and tole General Boehner “I know you supported me when I was crazy, but yer on yer second fifth of Johnny Walker in a 24 hour period, and I kin only stand behind a drunk for so long before I stab him in the kidneys.”

And by gum, he did. It was a fine thing by our lights, two gentlemen of their rank wallowing and fratricidin’ and we commenced a choppin’ at each other in admiration, until Cruz got down on his knees and said “I’m about to ask you boys to make the ultimate sacrifice. You’ve got to get out there and make sure Louis Gohmert isn’t the dumbest hairless incubus behind federal lines. And remember, if they cut every one of you down, It is not at all my fault.”

I must leave this for now. A camera crew is visible on the horizon…

